Shop for New Orleans Saints gear at

After All That; Brees Gets Zero Votes for MVP


One thing we overlooked on Friday when reflecting on the outcome of the MVP voting is that Saints quarterback Drew Brees, who came within 16 yards of breaking the single-season passing yardage record, got a grand total of . . . .

Zero votes.

Brees received not a single vote. Of the fifty sportswriters who have a voice in the AP process, no one voted for Brees.

One voted for Titans running back Chris Johnson. One voted for Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner. Two voted for Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers.

We don’t think Brees deserved the award, primarily since he didn’t lead his team to the postseason. But he at least deserved some recognition.

The problem, in our view, is the procedure the Associated Press uses to vote on postseason NFL awards. Why not expand the pool to more than 50 people? And why not use a Heisman-style procedure of picking three guys and assigning points for win, place, and show?

And why, in an era where the media as we once knew it has far less influence than ever before, do the awards handed out by the Associated Press continue to be the definitive statement on who did, and who didn’t, achieve the highest levels of achievement in pro football?

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Saints Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply